Honor the Seniors With Awards at Senior Honors Night


The East Noble “Top Ten” stand in recognition on the Cole Auditorium Stage.

Remy Fisher and Sahil Patel

With the end of the school year comes college decisions, graduation parties, and scholarship worries. This past Friday, May 12th, the 51st annual Senior Honors Night was held, where seniors of great academic strengths were recognized by local businesses and groups. Winners of scholarships/awards are as follows:

Class of 2017 Top Ten- Kaitlyn Weber, Abigail Peterson, Michael Lehman, Elijah Shanton, Hannah Eickhoff, Cassidy Fisher, Reilly Childers, Anthony Phan, Myah Romer, and Jessica Vandiver.

Sheri Berhalter  Memorial Scholarship- Carmen Johnson

Josephine Kimmell Art Award- Elijah Shanton

East Noble Education Assoc. Scholarship- Rebecca Nichols, Taylor Rex

Noble County Extension Homemakers Scholarship- Emilea Herkel, Kendaya Mapes

Noble County Master Gardeners Scholarship- Brandon Nichols

Kendallville Lions Club Scholarship- Brandon Dentler, Ryan Desper, Kyrun Foster, Sarah Toles

Noble REMC Scholarships- Michael Lehman, Kaitlyn Weber

Harold B. Hanes, Jr. Scholarship- Cassidy Fisher

Wayne Center Elementary Parent Advisory Scholarship- Myah Romer

Richard Bentz Leadership Scholarship- Bailee Hager

Northside Elementary PTO Scholarship- Arwa Ahmed

ICE Scholarship/Wal-Mart Distribution Center- Reilly Childers

Southside Elementary School PTO Scholarship- Jordan Molen

East Noble/Shepherd’s GM Perfect Attendance- Cynthia Lowe

Chevrolet FFA Scholarship- Kaelyn Bender

Kendallville Police Officer’s Benevolent Association- Payton Hart

Avilla School PTO Scholarship- Kelsey Coburn, Nichole Coburn, Hannah Eickhoff, Olivia Smith

Professional & Business Women’s Association of Kendallville- Nichole Coburn, Emilea Herkel, Rebecca Nichols, Blake Yeager

LaOtto Elementary PTO Scholarship- Nichole Coburn

Delta Kappa Gamma Grant-in-Aid Scholarship- Rebecca Nichols

Sally Peterson Music Scholarship- Bryson Stadtfeld

American Red Cross Scholarship- Zoey Heffley

Sandy Desper Memorial Scholarship- Ryan Desper, Anthony Phan, Myah Romer

Beta Associate Chapter of Tri Kappa Scholarship- Hannah Clifton

Beta Associate Chapter of Tri Kappa English Award- Michael Lehman

Beta Associate Chapter of Tri Kappa Vocal Music Award- Abigail Vanderkaay

Chester A. and Bessie C. Throp Scholarship- Bryson Stadtfeld

Knights of Columbus Scholarship- Alexander Eickholtz, Anthony Phan

Bargain Shoppe of the First Christian Church Scholarship- Kaitlyn Campbell, Michael Lehman

Parker Hannifin Corporation Scholarship- Nichole Coburn, Olivia Smith

Steel Dynamics Scholarship Award- Christopher Ballard

Rome City/Brimfield Lions Club Scholarship- Elizabeth Molen, Jordan Molen, Dale Rider

Joe Emerson Memorial Scholarship- Jessica Vandiver

Richard Stonebaker Memorial Scholarships Presented by the Kendallville Rotary Club- Ryan Desper, Alexander Eickholtz, Kinzie Gura, Myah Romer, Kaitlyn Weber

Roman Pride Scholarship- Taylor Mountz

A.J., Clarice & Peter James Rogers Memorial Scholarship- Reilly Childers

East Noble High School Class of 1975 Scholarship- Rebecca Nichols, Alyssa Skiles, Autumn Vice

Delta Theta Tau Sorority Thespian Female Award- Abigail VanderKaay

Burger King McLamore Foundation Scholarship- Kayla Morse

Nucor Foundation- Abigail VanderKaay

Xi Delta Epsilon Chapter-Beta Sigma Phi Sorority- Olivia Smith

IU Scholarship in Memory of John Atz by Time & Anita Hess- Justin Galaviz

East Noble Youth Baseball Scholarship- Trey Bruce

Arthur Franklin Mapes Memorial Literary Scholarship- Katie Hines

Alpha Associate Chapter of Tri Kappa Scholarship- Michael Lehman

American Legion Auxiliary Rome City Post #381 Scholarship- Dale Rider

Kenny Lindley II Memorial Scholarship- Hailey Braden, Hannah Eagleson

Pork Producers of Noble County Scholarship- Tori Foster

Kendallville Elks #1194 Scholarship- Bailee Hager, Zachary Lane

Bollhoff, INC. -Engineering Scholarship- Kaitlyn Weber

Kendallville Chamber of Commerce Scholarship- Bailee Hager, Emilea Herkel

Avilla Masonic Lodge Scholarship- Rebecca Nichols

4 Year Academic Scholarship- Bailee Hager

Academic Scholarship- Elijah Shanton, Kaitlyn Weber

Merit Scholarship- Jordan Axel, Reilly Childers, Zachary Lane, Myah Romer

Memorial Scholarship- Emilea Herkel

Helen R. Conklin Memorial Scholarship- Sarah Claymiller

Katherine Lawson Memorial Art Award- Aubrey Zahner

Gamma XI Chapter of Tri Kappa Thespian Male Award- Kenneth Woody

Christine Eder & Virgie Neizer Memorial Scholarship- Rebecca Nichols

Benjamin B. and Kathleen June Earley Memorial Scholarship- Michael Lehman

East Noble Class of 1969- Jocelyn Hutchins

Benjamin H. Murray Scholarship- Dale Rider, Zoey Stewart

Noble County Community Scholarship “Top Honor”- Reilly Childers, Michael Lehman, Myah Romer, Abbie Peterson, Anthony Phan, Kaitlyn Weber

Kiwanis Athletics Mental Attitude Awards- Jessica Vandiver, Austin Mohamedali

Outstanding Senior Female Athlete- Laine Allen

Outstanding Senior Male Athlete- Dylan Hunley
The ceremony was concluded after the individual and group awards with awarding all seniors (Honor Students) with a GPA of (3.2-3.49) were honored with a honor lapel pin. Seniors (High Honor Students) with a GPA of (3.5 or above) were honored with medals. To conclude the evening, Mrs. Benedict, the 2017 class counselor, awarded the last award to two 2016 graduates. This award was the Academic Wall of Fame Inductees. These awards were given to former East Noble students Phillip Phan (2016 Valedictorian) and Daniel Kane (2016 Salutatorian). Phillip is studying currently at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana, and Daniel is studying currently at Indiana Wesleyan University in Marion, Indiana. Congratulations to all the seniors who won scholarships and awards and finish out the year strong! Class of 2017, you all showed hard work, determination, and prosperity over the last four years as a Knight and East Noble wishes you the best as you move on in life and start a new chapter of your career. We hope you enjoyed your time here at East Noble and you will always be a Knight. Again, Congratulations Class of 2017 on all you have accomplished!